Barcelona, here I come!

Tuesday, March 13th, 2012

I’m so excited, I’m going to Barcelona, Spain! Even better, it’s for work!

Part of what I do in my job as an academic researcher is that I write research papers reporting on the results of my research. These are usually 5000 words long. I find it really hard to write a good research paper! But I keep practicing….

Well the practicing paid off! My paper was accepted to the international conference on information systems (ecis) which will be held in Barcelona in June this year! I really can’t believe it! I expected to get the paper rejected as often happens, but this time I was pleasantly surprised! The conference only accepted ~220 papers out of about 800, not great odds. but this time I beat them! So I get to go to Spain and present details on my research. The paper is about what motivates file sharers to share music in online communities.

Best of all, Barcelona is one of my absolute favorite cities in the world. I get to see Gaudi’s mosaics again, and be inspired. After my last trip there in 2004, hubby & I created our own piece of Gaudi in our living room. I am reminded of the beautiful place every single day 🙂

20120314-101148.jpg

So right now, I feel like I can do anything! Maybe it’s time to work on a new mosaic masterpiece…

20120314-101354.jpg

2 comments on “Barcelona, here I come!

  1. Lauren says:

    Well done Jenine! Congrats and have a great time in Spain! 😀

Leave a Reply

